Daily Archives: February 11, 2012

“Today’s Workout–Thursday, October 29th, 2009” Day 5

Good (late) evening everyone!

Now I know why I don’t wait until the end of the day to do my workout. Haha.  I was pretty low on energy most of the day, and had originally planned on doing my workout earlier, but never got around to it.  I have this really bad tendency of letting go of my healthy diet habits on the days that I either skip my workouts, or even sometimes on my active rest days, and I frequently end up eating junk.  It’s like when I start my day with a workout, I don’t want to ruin it by eating badly, when when I don’t, what do I have to lose?  The answer is everything.  A fleeting experience with greasy fried foods is not worth the regret you’ll feel for sabotaging what you’ve been working so hard for.  While I was at work, I had a fried appetizer platter from one of the nearby restaurants and afterwards I felt terrible.  I had eaten too much and given myself a stomach ache, not to mention I felt regret knowing that I had put poison into my body.  It’s ok to fall of the wagon every once in a while–we’re all human and should be allowed to make mistakes, but let them be every once in a while, and when you have the option of eating healthy and are feeling internally strong, don’t allow yourself to be tempted into holding yourself back.  Fortunately after binging like that, my workout felt extra gratifying!  It was tough convincing myself to do it because I felt like a bloated slug, but now that I’ve done it I feel strong and refreshed… like I could run a mile in the 30 degree weather outside–and it’s almost

midnight!  Stick to your guns even when you don’t feel like it.  You’ll be grateful for it later 🙂

Day: 5

Mood: Content

Energy: Oddly high

Workout: 20 Minute Challenge  <———–Workout link

Equipment: Timer

The Workout

Complete 6 rounds of the following exercises for time:

Crossover Lunges (5 on each leg)

Santana-Zuzana Push-up (6)

Side Lunge Jump (5 on each leg)

My time: 26 min and 41 sec

***

Don’t forget to record your time!  It’s important because it gives you the opportunity to mark your improvement when you finish the same workout faster and in better form the next time!

Modification Tips:

  • If you have trouble keeping your balance during the crossover lunges, hold onto a chair.
  • If the regular Santana-Zuzana push-ups are too intense for you, do the pushups from your knees and balance the side plank on your bottom knee with your top leg straight and locked, so that the weight of your body is shared between your bottom arm AND knee rather than just your arm.
  • If the side lunge jumps are too intense, take the jump out of the movement, and focus instead on sinking low into the lunge and keeping the bent leg parallel to the floor (knee bent no further than a 90 degree angle).

If you are following along with these workouts, but want to know what lies ahead (muahaha), take a look at this list.  It is a list of all of the workouts I will be doing on this site in order from oldest to most recent (the oldest being at the bottom of the page).  I know I like to start mentally preparing myself for a tough workout the day before, so I thought I would offer you the same liberty >:)  If you use the page, you should leave a comment and thank the creator for the resource–it’s a really amazing site!  I hope you all enjoy the workout, and try to beat my time!  Sorry it’s going up so late :/  I definitely won’t be making a habit out of working out after 10:00 pm.

Thanks for the workout Zuzana!

Your Night Owl,

Lauren ❤